CONSERVATIVE MEP FOR SCOTLAND

Who to Follow in Lima (Apart from me)?

07.12.2014.

Cutting through the noise of the negotiations is an arduous task.  Politicians, negotiators, NGO’s and celebs all have something to say with some of it much more valuable than the rest.  Below is list of who to follow on twitter for the best in breaking news during the next week of climate talks in Lima (well, apart from me of course):

The UN Secretariat

To get all the official news first, head to the UN secretariat:

UNFCCC official | @UN_climatetalks

Christiana Figueres | @cfigueres | Executive Secretary of the UNFCCC

Halldor Thorgeirsson | @HalldorTh | UNFCCC Director for Strategy

Negotiators

These guys will be in the room doing the deals.  Want to know if everyone is happy? Check out the twitterings of these guys:

Paul Watkinson | @pwatkinson | France

Yeb Sano | @YebSano | Philippines

Ivo de Zwaan | @izwaan | Netherlands

Claudia Salerno | @cscaldera | Venezuela

Daniel Ortega | @dvortega | Ecuador

Harri Laurikka | @paaneuvottelija | Finland

Quamrul Chowdhury | @quamrulchow2030 | Bangladesh

Andres Pirazzoli | @apirapino | Chile

Kunihiko Shimada | @cham92 | Japan

Prakash Mathema | @LDCchairUNFCCC | Nepal

Pa Ousman Jarju | @envoyjarju | The Gambia

Aslak Brun | @brunaslak | Norway

Politicians

The talks are a political process.  Want to find out who wants what? These politicos will tell you:

Miguel Arias Cañete | @MAC_europea | EU climate action and energy commissioner

Ed Davey | @EdwardDaveyMP | UK secretary of state for energy and climate change Rasmus Helveg Petersen | @rasmushelveg | Denmark minister of energy and climate change

Tony de Brum | @MinisterTdB | Marshall Islands foreign minister

Prakash Javadekar | @PrakashJavdekar | India minister for environment, forests and climate change

Åsa Romson | @asaromson | Sweden deputy prime minister and environment minister Ségolène Royal | @RoyalSegolene | France minister of ecology

Connie Hedegaard | @CoHedegaard | Former EU commissioner for climate action

Marcin Korolec | @MarcinKorolec | COP19 president and minister of climate change of Poland

Laurent Fabius | @LaurentFabius | COP21 president and foreign minister of France

Journalists

Want to find out the news before it’s news? Take a look at these twitter accounts:

Matt McGrath | @MattMcGrathBBC | BBC Environment Correspondent

Suzanne Goldenberg | @suzyji | Guardian

Pilita Clark | @pilitaclark | Financial Times

Alister Doyle | @alisterdoyle | Reuters

Alex Morales | @AlexJFMorales | Bloomberg

NGOs

Often more expert than the experts themselves, the NGOs that will keep you in the loop include:

Samantha Smith | @pandaclimate | WWF

Ruth Davis | @ruthdavis27 | Greenpeace UK

Leo Hickman | @LeoHickman | WWF UK

Alex Rafalowicz | @ClimateJusticeInfo | climate-justice.info

Liz Gallagher | @LizGallagher | E3G

With thanks to rtcc.org for the suggestions